you were country air and city lights you smelled of mountain tops

and morning dew

covered in coffee stained flannel you are sunsets and sunrises

always quick to leave

always eager to show up

still I held tightly with my bare hands

you were the earth and sky

you smelled of space

and gravity

that always pulled me toward you

but you kept untying yourself

from my desperate lips

you kept untying yourself

from my unwavering gaze

Now as the winds pick up

and as the yellow leaves fall

on my boots you used to love

I only see your shadow

Leave a Reply

