I stir underneath the covers

My mother arrives

“Your not out of bed yet”

“The world rests in my chest. It’s a heavy burden to bear mom”

“Well my love rid yourself of everything heavy”

They will always insist you get rid of the weight

But never explain how to put it down

I only move from my blankets to pour myself a glass

Wine

I had to stop drinking whiskey

It turned my tongue sharp

And my heart bitter

Pinot makes me feel like air

clouds

Up up and away

The air is nice here

I think I’ll stay a while

Leave a Reply

