As Is

a book with a crack

along the spine

a vase with a little chip

stamped with a red clearance tag

“AS IS”

I am drawn to those things

I guess you could say

I can relate

can they be repaired?

restored, made into something new

Maybe this is what my last lover meant

when he looked at me teary eyed

this won’t work

he said I choose projects not partners

the new boy i met can not be fixed

neither can that vase

but i went home with them both anyways

call it optimistic

I call it sadistic

 

Leave a Reply

