moootivation

if you’re looking for motivation to get you off the couch and started on your workout, I have to tell you something… the motivation is not coming for you.  I repeat, it is NOT coming.

You don’t just get motivated.  DISCIPLINE COMES FIRST.

As a person who was never into fitness, who would much rather sit on the couch with a Big Mac in my mouth, I get how hard it is when you don’t feel motivated. It took a record executive who basically told me I’m too fat to wear white on stage to get me to change my mindset. That’s when I realized I wasn’t going to let anyone dictate how I should feel about myself. So I got up and did something about it.

Trust me, it’s hard. I know what it’s like to physically force yourself off the couch to do a workout that makes you want to die after only five minutes. I know what it’s like to cry during a workout because it’s so hard. I know what it’s like to quit in the middle of a workout. I know what it’s like to be embarrassed about having to workout to be healthy. But the truth is, you’re not going to get motivated. You have to take some sort of step forward on your own.

If you think you can’t do something because you’re not feeling motivated enough, you’re actually saying you don’t care enough. You don’t want to get motivated if you’re not doing anything about it, because it’s the action that creates the motivation. Action must come first. What you really should be saying is you want to be disciplined.

It takes discipline to take the action to get motivation. Did you get that??  Being disciplined means you do something even if you don’t want to. People who are disciplined are willing to do the hard things, whether they want to or not. You have to tell yourself, “I don’t want to, but I’m going to.”

You’ll find that when you do it you actually feel amazing. When you feel amazing doing something you needed to do but didn’t want to do, you’re motivated to keep going. You’ve crossed it off your list and that makes you feel like a badass!

If you’re not happy with where you’re at, health or otherwise,  you know you deserve better and you want to make that change, you have to start today!  You have to start right now. Don’t wait until January 1 like everyone else. Today is the day to start over.  Send me a message here if you are a 10 on the scale of ready to get disciplined.

Remember it’s all about the action you take right now.

Motivation doesn’t come, you create it.  That’s the power you have.

Leave a Reply

